Taking Stock

For years, a yellowed newspaper clipping remained taped to my computer proclaiming “Black Monday was Not the End of the World” in stark white letters on a black background. It had been part of a newspaper ad from some financial house referring to the stock market crash of Monday, October 19, 1987.

That Black Monday also happened to be the first day of my first (paying) job in television news, which is why I loved looking at that quote every day stuck to my computer. Not only was it not the end of the world, it was the beginning of a whole wide new one for me.

So you know what that means …

Today marks 20 years! Yow…!

My, my how the news business has changed. And my, oh my, how so much of it remains the same. For better and/or worse.

There is no place quite like a broadcast newsroom filled with creative and critical thinkers and caricature-worthy egos. And there is no news town quite like this one. There are a million stories in the Magic City (and environs), and most qualify as “only in South Florida” stories.

Mom and Dad were quite convinced their daughter – who questioned their every statement and had an answer for everything – would become, quite naturally, a lawyer. The answer to “what do you want to be when you grow up” never did include television news reporter.

After 20 years, each day different than the one before, I can’t imagine doing anything else.

Actually, I’m not sure I know how to do anything else.

2 Responses

  1. I’m so happy you chose news over law!!

    Holly

  2. I am glad you chose news over law as well. We have enough one sided politicians that think their opinion is the only opinion.

Leave a Reply

