Let’s Call It A "Weblumn"

I think I’ll really like this blogging thing. Actually, I’ll prefer to think of it as a “column” more than a weblog. Or maybe “weblumn”.

The reports we file for our evening newscasts are usually not more than a minute and a half long (yes, that’s 75 to 90 seconds!). That’s how we fit the news of the day into a half hour broadcast. But that often leaves little room for the color and detail that often makes a story richer, more touching, transcendent. So you’ll understand why the opportunity, the venue and the space to talk about the little interesting elements of the newsday that may not fit into that 1:30 – is so appealing. Thanks for the opportunity to indulge with you.

They promise me here – I’ll be unedited (though I firmly believe we all need a good editing every now and then). And I promise to behave. Which I generally do, in public.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

